Who's Who in the Cathedral

The Visitor

Her Majesty the Queen

The Dean

The Very Revd Professor Martyn Percy


The Cathedral Chapter

The Reverend Canon Richard Peers, The Sub Dean

The Revd Canon Nigel Biggar, Regius Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology

The Revd Canon Sarah Foot, Regius Professor of Ecclesiastical History

The Revd Canon Graham Ward, Regius Professor of Divinity

Canon Professor Carol Harrison, Lady Margaret Professor of Divinity

The Venerable Jonathan Chaffey, The Archdeacon of Oxford


Cathedral Ministry Team

The Revd Philippa White, Precentor and School Chaplain

The Revd Clare Hayns, College Chaplain

Janet Proudman, Cathedral Licensed Lay Minister


Cathedral Administration

John Briggs, Cathedral Registrar

Sarah Hope, Cathedral Secretary 

Canon Sarah Meyrick, Public Engagement Manager (Monday to Thursday)

Miranda Hockliffe, Volunteer & Visitor Coordinator

Philippa Blackwell, Cathedral Bursar (Tuesday, Wednesday)

Joseph Denby, Operations Manager

Jacob Downey, Cathedral Events Assistant

Nico Dwyer, Liturgy Assistant (mornings)



Paul Harris, Dean's Verger

Matthew Ball,  Canons' Verger and Sacristan

Jim Godfrey, Verger


Music Department

Steven Grahl, Organist

Benjamin Sheen, Sub-Organist

Helen Smee, Director of Frideswide Voices

Ellie Sperling, Frideswide Voices Choir Manager

James Potter, Director of Music, The Cathedral Singers

Simon Hogan, Organist, The Cathedral Singers


Honorary Cathedral Chaplains

The Very Revd Robert Grimley

The Revd Canon David C Knight

The Revd Lucy Gardner

The Revd Canon Dr Emma Percy

The Venerable David Meara

The Revd Mark Speeks CF


Click here for the College of Canons and wider Chapter