Honours for services to the Church

Eleven people from the Diocese of Oxford will be honoured for their service to the Church at Christ Church Cathedral this week. The ceremony takes place during Choral Evensong which will be sung by the Cathedral Choir.

Eight of these will be installed as ‘honorary canons’. They are selected because of their work within the Diocese of Oxford and the wider Church. On the same occasion, three people will be admitted to the Order of St Frideswide which gives recognition to lay people who have given outstanding service to the Church.

The Order is named after the patron saint of Oxford and was founded in 2001 by the then Bishop of Oxford, the Rt Revd Richard Harries. Just two or three people are admitted each year.

The Rt Revd Dr Steven Croft, the Bishop of Oxford, said: “We are hugely blessed in this diocese to have so many people, lay and ordained, who do so much in their churches, their communities, and beyond. I am delighted that this service allows us to say thank you to some of those people for the outstanding work they have done and are doing to make a difference, especially over the last year which has, for so many, been a difficult time.”

The Precentor, the Revd Philippa White said: “It is a privilege to be the Cathedral Church of this diocese, blessed as it is with so many lay people and clergy who use their considerable talents to build up God's kingdom.

“Some of those are embodied in the Greater Chapter of our college of canons and the Order of St Frideswide, to whom we install and admit new members today; I am so glad to deepen our relationship with these candidates and welcome them into the life of the Cathedral.”

Because of the restrictions on space in the Cathedral during the pandemic only invited guests will be able to attend this special service. However it will be livestreamed on the Cathedral’s YouTube channel so that others can participate in the service remotely.

The candidates are:

Honorary Canons

The Revd Mark Bennet, the Revd Janet Binns, the Revd Dave Bull, the Revd Charles Chadwick, the Revd Richard Lamey, the Revd Val Plumb, the Revd John Tattersall and the Revd Dr Sally Welch.

Order of St Frideswide:

Jan Fishwick, James Macnamara, Kathryn Winrow

For more information see the diocesan website.